The Psychology of Time Travel: A Novel (Hardcover)

The Psychology of Time Travel: A Novel Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Special Order - Subject to Availability

Description


"Astonishing."—The New York Times
"A fascinating meditation on the many ways traveling through time can change a person." —HelloGiggles
"This genre-bending, time-bending debut will appeal to fans of Doctor Who, dystopian fiction, and life's great joy: friend groups."—Refinery29

Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly’s Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel, a mind-bending, time-travel debut.


In 1967, four female scientists worked together to build the world’s first time machine. But just as they are about to debut their creation, one of them suffers a breakdown, putting the whole project—and future of time travel—in jeopardy. To protect their invention, one member is exiled from the team—erasing her contributions from history.

Fifty years later, time travel is a big business. Twenty-something Ruby Rebello knows her beloved grandmother, Granny Bee, was one of the pioneers, though no one will tell her more. But when Bee receives a mysterious newspaper clipping from the future reporting the murder of an unidentified woman, Ruby becomes obsessed: could it be Bee? Who would want her dead? And most importantly of all: can her murder be stopped?

Traversing the decades and told from alternating perspectives, The Psychology of Time Travel introduces a fabulous new voice in fiction and a new must-read for fans of speculative fiction and women’s fiction alike.

About the Author


Kate Mascarenhas is a half-Irish, half-Seychellois midlander. Since 2017, Kate has been a chartered psychologist. Before that she worked as a copywriter, a dollhouse maker, and a bookbinder. She lives with her husband in a small terraced house which she is slowly filling with Sindy dolls. This is her first novel.

Praise For…


Praise for The Psychology of Time Travel:

"An equally astonishing debut, simultaneously a science fiction novel, historical drama, locked-room murder mystery and magnificent meditation on how human beings experience and adapt to mortality."
The New York Times

“A genre-breaking book combining time travel, science fiction, a ’locked room’ mystery, with touches of romance...[and] female characters who are competent [and] capable.”
Midwest Book Review

“Mascarenhas is fully aware of the rich history of the genre, and to this end, she provides the reader with a puzzle box plot, a whodun­nit told out of chronological order...The Psychology of Time Travel is a surprising novel not because of its temporal shenanigans—as entertaining as they are—but because it goes beyond those familiar hijinks and explores the human cost of a non-linear existence.”
Locus Magazine

"A fascinating meditation on the many ways traveling through time can change a person."
—HelloGiggles

"This genre-bending, time-bending debut will appeal to fans of Doctor Who, dystopian fiction, and life’s great joy: friend groups...A tightly plotted novel about the potential hazards of time travel on a person’s sense of self, not to mention world events."
—Refinery29

"A fun and twisty read."
—MindBodyGreen

"[A] superb debut novel...The Psychology of Time Travel heralds the arrival of a master storyteller."
—BookPage

"Intricately plotted...The story unfolds in a captivating way, and fascinating suggestions are made about the effects of time travel."
Publisher’s Weekly

"With plenty of twists and turns, The Psychology of Time Travel is a provocative thought experiment."
—Foreword Reviews

"A dazzling genre-defying debut...witty, inventive and unflashily wise about human hearts; Mascarenhas’s future promises to be an exciting one."
The Guardian

"Mascarenhas’ writing is clear and strong, making this a good choice for readers who want to be immersed in a story."
—Booklist

"The narrative moves back and forth through time with its almost all-female cast meeting their future and past selves in an intriguing, multi-layered mystery that is ingeniously plotted."
The Daily Mail

"[A] compelling, confident debut...wrapping the psychological exploration around a diverse, real set of characters and a thrilling murder mystery."
SFX Magazine, 4 1/2 stars

"A surprising, mysterious, and sometimes unsettling novel, threaded with off-kilter ideas and wonderful insights.”
—Elan Mastai, author of All Our Wrong Todays

An elegant braid of a narrative, delivering queer joy and time-traveling women...Fans of Jo Walton will feel very much at home in this gorgeous, nested tale.”
—Meg Elison, author of The Book of the Unnamed Midwife

"The Psychology of Time Travel is the most imaginative thriller I’ve read in ages: captivating, delightful, and thoroughly original. Ms. Mascarenhas’ genius is in patiently exploring the small, fascinating details of a world in which time travel is possible...an all-around wonderful novel."
—Jennie Melamed, author of Gather the Daughters

"Kate Mascarenhas deftly weaves an innovative tale with The Psychology of Time Travelpart mystery; part time travel. Entirely entertaining!"
—Julie McElwain, author of A Murder In Time


Product Details
ISBN: 9781683319443
ISBN-10: 1683319443
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: February 12th, 2019
Pages: 336
Language: English